Failte from Ireland!

06Jan11

Here I am, in Ireland! It’s been a really relaxing time. Lots of home-cooked hearty meals (my favorite = bacon and cabbage!), lots of reading (mostly finished with all the Harry Potter books), and lots of shopping and even more window-shopping.

I went to Galway yesterday and revisited all my old haunts. I had studied abroad there about 6 years ago (I’m old!) and really enjoyed the quaint seaside town. I picked up this awesome authentic Aran sweater yesterday, after trying on lots of different sweaters in wool shops all around Galway (to the chagrin of the bf).

It was only 25euros! It would cost more than that just to buy the yarn. Nevertheless, my dream is to be able to knit one of these sweaters myself. The bf and his sister told me that growing up, they would each receive such a sweater from their aunt on Christmas. Little Irish children, running around in Aran sweaters! What a vision! (I’m actually trying to get one of these sweaters for J, but shh, don’t tell her!)

To further support the Irish economy, I also purchased this bag from Brown Thomas.

This Moschino Love purse wasn’t too expensive, especially compared against the Alexa bag by Mulberry I was originally set on getting. I’ve actually grown quite fond of this bag, and already got a few compliments when I used it for a night on the town.

Last but not least, I had to make a stop at my favorite store in all of Ireland — Penneys. It’s kind of like… well, Walmart. Except with really cute clothes, and super rolled-back prices. I got this dress for 7euros. YES, that’s right, 7EUROS! That’s about $10. I mean, fullprice for this dress is only 21euros anyway, nothing to really complain about. But for 7euros, I really should’ve grabbed a couple more in case one of them gets ruined by red wine spillage…

So far, I’ve been really good and the only purchase I’ve really regretted was spending 15euros on candy at the movie theater. I’ll be heading back to the States this Sunday but til then, I plan on purchasing a few more items to support the economy over here and I’ll be sure to report to all you lovely readers.

Well, til my next post, Slan! (The bf is yelling in the background –‘You forgot the fada!’)

3 Responses to “Failte from Ireland!”

  1. SEVEN EUROS?!?

  2. UM, I also got a dress for THREE EUROS!!!

  3. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that you need
    to write more on this issue, it might not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t discuss such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!


Leave a Reply

