What they wore at the Tony Awards

14Jun10

Sean Hayes was kind of awesome last night hosting the 64th annual Tony Awards. He was breezy, funny and I loved the times he and Kristin Chenoweth were on stage together [like, you know, when they made out and he sent her off with an affection pat on the ass].

I guess I thought it’d be a largely different crowd at the Tonys, but so many of the faces that were broadcasted last night have careers on TV or in the movies [unfamiliar faces were left off-screen, for obvious reasons I suppose.]. Scarlett Johansson, Viola Davis, Denzel Washington and Catherine Zeta-Jones all got awards last night — all of whom are either Oscar nominees [Davis]/winners [Washington, Zeta-Jones] or Golden Globe nominees [Johansson].

I feel like Hollywood tends to have the crazier outfits, the what-was-she-thinking-her-stylist-should-be-fired looks. But last night was all class, no crass.

The only problem I had was with Katie Holmes’ too-tight-in-the-bust dress, not to mention the fact that they paired one of the shortest men on Broadway with one of the tallest women on Broadway. Awk on the eyes, for sure.

Cate Blanchett, honestly, I thought that even in this outfit, which I don’t think ANYONE except maybe Gwen Paltrow could pull off [same coloring, you know?], she was stunning.

Kristin Chenoweth, cute as a jem.

Scarlett Johansson, she addressed Ryan Reynolds as “my Canadian” and I think he almost cried. Her speech went on for a really long time [first acceptance speech of the night; they started playing the cut-off music later that evening] and she used the line “this has been my dream ever since I was a little girl,” but congrats, Scar-Jo! You’re a real live actress!

Catherine Zeta-Jones, like Scar-Jo, her acceptance speech went on for way too long and she was kinda ‘glistening’ the entire night. Super sweet tho, of course. She got tangled up a bit going up on stage and said something like, “How does Cinderella run around in this dress??”

Lea Michele and Jonathan Groff, I love that they’re besties and she sat on his lap during her performance of “Don’t Rain on My Parade.” Tbh, I was kind of hoping she and Matthew Morrison would do a romantic duet and then I could’ve squirmed at how inappropriate it was that they were doing a love song together when they’re supposed to be teacher and student. But I was spared that scenario. Sad face. Oh, and Matthew Morrison was hot.

So was Eddie Redmayne.

No Responses Yet to “What they wore at the Tony Awards”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

