All The Single Men

05Jan10

Less than a week into the new year and already I’ve had three guys tell me that, for them, 2010 will be the year of not being single (I uncharacteristically accomplished something before the deadline and fulfilled this particular new year’s resolution already, prompting readers to request that we edit our About page.)

So, in an effort to help direct these single searchers toward coupledom, I’ve queried a few ladies — single and not — to weigh in on things they never want to see a guy wear on a first date.

Let’s start from the bottom up:

Tevas and Crocs. Oh, Tevas and Crocs. Bad enough without socks, but with socks? As Aleya, 23, says, “uh, that’s quick cause for a 180.”

A guy I used to work with asked me how I’d feel about a dude wearing pumps on the first date. At first I thought he meant heels, but then realized he meant those sneakers (Below: Reebok Pumps) you literally have to pump up every so often so they have the right bounce. He was on his way to purchase a pair to wear on his date after work — “I think it’d be funny to stop in the middle of the street to pump up my shoes.” Maybe after you’ve secured a second date, but the first? Awk.

Personally, I’m a fan of the man-skinnies (mannies?) — well, more like, I’m a fan of guys who can pull off skinnies. However, others, as they often do, would disagree. HJ, 24, says ripped skinnies are a definite no, and Katrina, 25, wants a guy to have pants loose enough that he can actually sit down at dinner. To each his own.

After she got through listing obvious no items like pit-stained or pizza-stained shirts and mismatched socks, T, 24, said frilly shirts are a no-go. Pink may be making its way into the male wardrobe, but frills have a long way to go. Boys, please don’t be a pirate.

Yea, we want you to look good, but there’s something to be said about male aesthetics. There’s a reason why silver foxes are so foxy, why George Clooney is still the ultimate bachelor, and why elderly men can still get it on even if they can’t always get off. Basically, most of you get better with age! So aside from keeping your face clean and moisturized, avoid excessive makeup. We don’t want your face rubbing off on our shirts — aiite? And, uh, we’ll try not to do it either.

Katrina said mustache and I thought it was funny. Ask around, see if facial hair really is the right choice for you, then decide whether or not it’s a good thing to bring on a first date. After all, it’s just hair.

Ok, forget what I said in the last bit. Hair’s important, as Lo, 25, points out. Topanga realized it when she chopped off her hair in an effort to prove that inner beauty was more important — she failed. So please don’t wear a baseball cap to the first date because we’re going to assume that you’re ashamed of whatever’s under there — and plus, we don’t want anything to obstruct your delightful face. We all have our insecurities, so work with what you’ve got and we’ll forget all about a little thinning…and…receding.

19 Responses to “All The Single Men”

  1. re: the first paragraph of this post, you’s got some ‘splaining to do. perhaps friday at NK’s?

  2. haha you got it.

  3. 3 n

    and i agree with the person who said you should update the about page :-)

  4. 4 n

    oh my b. it’s updated
    well done

  5. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your
    blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  6. It is perfect time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this submit and if I may just I want to counsel you few attention-grabbing issues or advice. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I desire to learn even more issues about it!

  7. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.
    He was once entirely right. This put up actually made my
    day. You cann’t imagine just how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  8. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  9. I’ll right away grasp your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or
    e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  10. I visit day-to-day some web pages and information
    sites to read posts, but this weblog presents quality based writing.

  11. After going over a number of thhe blog articles onn your
    web page, I seriously like your way of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will bee checking back soon.

    Please visit my web site too and tell me your opinion.

  12. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before
    but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  13. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful
    lot of text for only having one or 2 pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  14. Hey! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a
    massive amount work? I’m brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal on a daily basis.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for
    brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  15. google chrome show javascript errors

  16. Hi Dear, are you genuinely visiting this site regularly, if so after that
    you will absolutely obtain nice know-how.

  17. Coffee shops accommodate with absolute great package deal of Internet connectivity inasmuch as Lordship gadgets asunder
    hack wifi with andorid from your annual, such as far as fire phones
    abstract high-end versions of Kindles. Active advanced en route to be extant adaptable in there
    with the enterprise plan. Banburee resort Koh Samui
    possesses absolute overall of 12 rentals, bipartite models of class cottages (4 rooms) above twenty-four rooms involving Deluxe rooms, which declare en route to us 45 abeyant rooms.

  18. You made some good points there. I lookd on the web
    for more info about the issue and found most people will go
    along with yyour views on this website.

  19. I was very happy to find this site. I need to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely liked every part of it and I have you book marked to look at new
    information in your site.


Leave a Reply

