Oxford Shoes For Me and You

20Oct09

Ok, I’ll admit — I’ve been called frumpy more than once in my life. I can’t help it if I really love the stuffy librarian look! Longish below-the-knee pleated skirts + cardigans + glasses = heaven to me. In middle school, I was the only kid in my class to vote YES on uniforms.

I LOVE oxford shoes! Sort of falls into the ‘stuffy librarian’ look perfectly, right? They are what my friends and I call ‘girl-pretty.’ You know, when you wear something that all the girls love, but all the boys hate.

J. Crew has the very basic and well-made Elsbeth leather oxfords. It’s a bit on the steep end however.

$225.00

$225.00

Howsa bout the Frye Erin Oxford over at Urban Outfitters? It comes in lots of different fun colors.

$168.00

$168.00

Here is the class black and white oxford. I definitely wore some version of these as a child. I also had them in pink! The Candela NYC Spectator Oxford brings back such happy memories!

$198.00

$198.00

Mmh the Dolce Vita Myron reminds me of tap shoes! Can’t resist fake dance shoes…

$155.00

$132.00

These are the cheapest of the bunch but I think the BDG Woven Ankle Bootie look super cute! Reminds me a bit of Anne of Green Gables. And that’s a good thing!

$48.00

$48.00

I must admit, I’m partial to Jeffrey Campbell shoes. They are usually pretty easy to break in, and the leather is always good quality. This Jeffrey Campbell Berry Oxford Bootie might be my fave of the bunch.

$158.00

$158.00

These are just gorgeous. I want Sweet Life by Dolce Vita Patent Tip Lace Boot!

$78.00

$78.00

If any of you find other Oxfords, let me know. And if you see anything vaguely old-librarian-ish, also send to ellestocked@gmail.com. Much appreciated!

4 Responses to “Oxford Shoes For Me and You”

  1. 1 Laura

    Thanks for posting this. I had bought the Elsbeth Oxfords and loved them. I did a search to see if anyone else had any opinions and founds yours. I’m going to check out Urban Outfitters, I haven’t gone in there in a while. I too love the stuffy librarian look as in Audrey Hepburn before she’s made over by Fred Astaire.

    • Hi Laura! I LOVE Audrey Hepburn before the makeover. But she was stunning afterward too (in Givenchy no less!). Let us know if you buy any of the other oxford shoes. I just bought some Jeffrey Campbell brown oxfords but now I want more pairs! =)

  2. Very good blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Cheers!

  3. These are the steps on how to make and do a baking soda hot sitz bath.
    You will get over selfishness and become a whole
    person who is concerned about other people. The magazine is doing an October issue called “The Body” that will feature
    naked athletes.


Leave a Reply

